Wow please help me trim my list!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: November 2003 Archive: Wow please help me trim my list!
By Confetti (Confetti) on Thursday, November 13, 2003 - 05:25 pm: Edit

Hispanic (Peruvian) / caucasian
female
NJ public school

SAT (highest composite): 670m 750v (1420)

SAT II
Literature = 670
Writing = 690
U.S. History = 680
-- set to retake each in dec.

ACT: 30 composite
-- set to retake in dec.

GPA (weighted): 4.511
(unweighted): unknown, probably about a 3.5 or 3.6

Class Rank: 40/689 (will be recalculated in january; probably will improve; i hope!)

_APs_
sophomore year:
U.S. History = 4
junior year:
U.S. Government = 3
Comparative Government = 4

Senior year schedule (most rigorous):
AP Art History
AP Calculus AB
Honors Economics (school does not offer AP)
gym / health (mandatory)
Honors International Studies
AP Computer Science (I studied independently to pass a test to gain entrance into the class)
Advanced Drama
AP English Literature

_ECs_
=Freshman year=
- French club
- FBLA (sacrificed lunch periods and free time to promote the club)
- acting class (out of school activity)
- badminton
- helped neighborhood kids with homework
//summer//
- acting class (more intense; Meisner)
- volunteer community service hours; six weeks, five days a week, eight hours each day, at a camp for children in the recreational center

=Sophomore year=
- French club
- French Honors Society
- FBLA (sacrificed lunch periods and free time to promote the club; competed in Word Processing II but only advanced to States; had to stop participation in club junior year bc of theater commitments)
- lead in one act festival at school (festival discontinued after soph year)
- badminton
//summer//
- acting class (more intense; Meisner and scene study)
- became represented by a successful and renowned manager with well-known clients

=Junior year=
- French club
- French Honors Society
- National Honors Society