Chances : Princeton/Cornell/Caltech/MIT

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: January 2003 Archive: Chances : Princeton/Cornell/Caltech/MIT
By Aequensys on Thursday, December 19, 2002 - 04:55 pm: Edit

I am an international student, whose native language is not English.

My Scores are :
Maths 790
Verbal 630
------------
Maths II 790
Physics 750
Writing 670
------------
GPA 9.84/10
------------
Rank 1/25 (Took 1st prize each year in my class)
------------
Olympiads :
*Mention - National Olympiad of Physics
*Participated Natinal Olympiad of Physics( 3 years)
*Participated - National Olympiad of Computer Programming (1 year)
*1st Prize - County Olympiad of Physics (3 years), Mathematics(1 year), Computer Programming(3 years)
---------------------------
Passed CAE(Cambridge Advanced English) Exam with an "A"
---------------------------
What are my chances of being admitted to the universities above ?

By wow on Thursday, December 19, 2002 - 06:20 pm: Edit

wow thats a damn small high school you go to

By Aequensys on Friday, December 20, 2002 - 02:10 am: Edit

That's not my high school- that's my class.
There are about 200 students of my age in my high scool...but High school doesn't have rankings.
If it had, I would probably be 1/200 (I am 1st in my class, which is the best in the High-School)

By p on Friday, December 20, 2002 - 10:54 am: Edit

In my opinion, you are in at Cornell. Caltech and Princeton -- probably not. MIT is a possibility.
What are you planning to major in? What country are you from?

By seeker on Friday, December 20, 2002 - 11:38 am: Edit

'Class' in the applications context usually refers to the entire cohort of students your age in your school. Participating in National Olympiads is good, but did you manage to win anything? What about your extracurriculars and other activities?

By Aequensys on Friday, December 20, 2002 - 04:53 pm: Edit