COLLEGE SEARCH--I AM SOO LOST, PLS EVALUATE *(exchng stdnt)

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: September 2003 Archive: COLLEGE SEARCH--I AM SOO LOST, PLS EVALUATE *(exchng stdnt)
By Sots (Sots) on Thursday, September 25, 2003 - 11:08 pm: Edit

My SATs are 1380, with a seven-something on the verbal. I took the ACTs once, and am retaking ACTs and SATs in Oct and Nov. ACT I did well on everything but BOMBED the science (what the heck was that?!) so I got a 28... No SAT 2's yet (uh oh... ) and dont know what I can take besides writing. Took a Bio one in 9th grade with no AP course and got a 650, which I assume is pretty bad. I have score choice, but I am going to try for competetive colleges-- should I ditch the record?? Class rank: 28/450-ish, 97.1 gpa w/ a 101% average last year. Also, I'm really looking a lot to my extracurriculars here, which have hurt a lot of other things-- I was an exchange student in Brasil for a year, now speak fluent Portuguese, and am a very talented artist (considered art school, but then I'd feel like all of those APs were such a waste, and I want to find really motivated people in college). I was also chosen out of my grade as one of 5 people interviewed for Empire Girls State, and I was the one that was selected as a first-choice to go. I went and got "Comptroller," which is a really high position. Editor of Art and Lit Mag, HS, regular clubs, youth court.... work almost every day after school.... I'm hoping all of this will push me up so I can compete with people who have better scores... But I am new to all of this, and any advice/criticism would REALLY help me out here. ...Also, I really want to go to Brown--there I could take art classes at RISD, a very good art school next door, and they have a whole portuguese community there. Am I dreaming?

By Serdu (Serdu) on Thursday, September 25, 2003 - 11:16 pm: Edit