NYU?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: September 2003 Archive: NYU?
By Benspinspace (Benspinspace) on Tuesday, September 23, 2003 - 05:31 pm: Edit

Hi,

I'm a mediocre student with fantastic extracurriculars in art and theater and computers and music. This explains my poor grades, without justifying them.

My GPA is 2.9 unweighted, and 4.3 weighted. However we do a 6 point scale instead of a 5 point scale for our weighted grades. Thus I believe my weighted GPA would be around 3.7 or so weighted by normal 5-point-scale standards (I'm guessing). My SAT was 1350. I take mostly honors/AP with a touch of non-honors classes, and basically I get Bs in honors classes.

However, why does "Counselor-O-Matic" on the Princeton Review website rate NYU as a Match school for me? I thought that it would be a Reach or basically an "Unreachable." Does NYU not have as excruciatingly high academic standards as I had thought, or is it that they give special weight to students that involve themselves in my types of extracurriculars?

I qualify for Minority status, I've had all sorts of jobs, many leadership roles, gone to "enrichment" programs, yadda yadda yadda.

However, you should consider: it ranked "NYU" as a match for me even when I experimented with my results and made my GPA even lower, my SAT even lower, and marked myself as "white." Even with all three of those, it said that NYU was a match. Why?

Also, would someone of my stats be able to get into Brandeis, McGill, BU, UMichigan, or even (super reach) Chicago?

Thank you.

By Xtech (Xtech) on Tuesday, September 23, 2003 - 05:48 pm: Edit