College list..WHAT ARE MY CHANCES!!!!!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: September 2003 Archive: College list..WHAT ARE MY CHANCES!!!!!
By Lostboy86 (Lostboy86) on Sunday, September 21, 2003 - 10:41 am: Edit

Hey, i just wanted an evaluation of my colleges, and whether i have a decent chance to get in.
I'm doing the IB diploma, predicted 38-40 points total. Subjects are:
HL Economics 7
HL Geo 6/7
HL Bio 6
SL Math Methods 6
SL Malay 5
SL English 6/7....
SAT's: I am gonna do em' this October.
I'm also an international student living in Singapore, of Indian heritage. I have a good list of EC's, senior Rugby Team (4 years), Social service, guitar, Water polo team, Soccer, etc.
Please could someone tell me if i'm being an idiot applying to these schools:

Middlebury (ED for December)
Amherst (reachy)
Swarthmore
Williams
Carleton
Grinel
Cornell

Any comments would be really useful...

By Briteeyez4322 (Briteeyez4322) on Sunday, September 21, 2003 - 11:34 am: Edit

you seem to have pretty reasonable choices although it's hard to gauge w/o GPA or SAT scores... IB is a good thing to have (go IB! hehe) and your international status is something these small LAC's always want.... at Middlebury and Williams, athletics is a big thing so that should help you there... but w/ these kind of schools (the uber-competitive) there's so many variables... hope this helps

By Briteeyez4322 (Briteeyez4322) on Sunday, September 21, 2003 - 11:35 am: Edit

btw.... which school is supposed to be your safety? because even though you seem to have "hooks" and a well-rounded application, you should have at least one school that you know you can get into just in case...

By Jamimom (Jamimom) on Sunday, September 21, 2003 - 12:25 pm: Edit