Do You Think I Have A Shot At Yale???

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: September 2003 Archive: Do You Think I Have A Shot At Yale???
By Yale_Hopefully (Yale_Hopefully) on Friday, September 19, 2003 - 04:40 pm: Edit

I am a sophomore at a public high school with a 4.0 GPA. I am secretary of my school's Sr. Beta Club. I am also an active member in Student Council, Math Club,and Scholar's Bowl. I am taking the ACT in December and the SAT next year.I volunteer at food distributions for the needy regularly. I am a vegetarian and an animal rights activist.I was accepted to Who's Who Among American High School Students, The Natioal Honor Society,and The National Honor Roll. Do you think I have a chance of being accepted?

By Crnchycereal (Crnchycereal) on Friday, September 19, 2003 - 04:46 pm: Edit

First of all, nobody here will be able to give you an accurate prediction because you're still young and haven't established yourself yet. With that said, you SEEM to be on the right track. Does your school weight GPAs or rank? How big is your school? Is it public or private? Have you won any awards or honors for academic or extracurriculur activites? Also, just so you know, Who's Who and The National Honor Roll are BOTH scams. They are designed specifically to make money, so don't put them on your application. Anyway, you have time, so just try to score high on the SAT/ACT and get some awards/leadership positions. Establish good relationships with teachers and your guidance counselor also so you can get good recs.

By Yale_Hopefully (Yale_Hopefully) on Friday, September 19, 2003 - 04:54 pm: Edit

Thanks!!! My school doesn't rank GPA's. There are about 475 students in my school. Last year I won the Ancient History award, the Algebra Award,and an award for writing superior research papers. I try to take all the honors classes I can even though not many are offered at my school. Once again,thanks!!