Chances w/ AMAZING RECS (STATE)

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: September 2003 Archive: Chances w/ AMAZING RECS (STATE)
By Alimshk (Alimshk) on Friday, September 19, 2003 - 03:54 pm: Edit

Hey, I got a quick question.

I've been an A- student in high school, took hardest courses available and ranked around 15/330. I also got a 1430 on the SATs and low-mid 700's SAT IIs. I've played one varsity sport for 3 years and have pretty good ECs. I also have a great letter of recommendation from the Treasurer of my state and the executive of the State's Board of Education because I worked with them.

Will these recommendations significantly improve my chances at the Ivies?

By Whodie (Whodie) on Friday, September 19, 2003 - 04:07 pm: Edit

In my opinion, there will be a huge boost in your application. Good luck!

By Alimshk (Alimshk) on Friday, September 19, 2003 - 04:35 pm: Edit

Thanks, really appreciate the support!

By Serdu (Serdu) on Friday, September 19, 2003 - 08:35 pm: Edit

Whodie is wrong. Actually in several of the books I've read getting a senator or state rec is only going o hurt you. UNLESS, you have worked directly under him/her. They will not significantly improve your chances if they're your parents' friends, colleagues or college buddies. How do you know your state treasurer?

By Soozievt (Soozievt) on Friday, September 19, 2003 - 09:05 pm: Edit