Record producer 38 years old handicap ADD/ dislexia/ can I g

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: September 2003 Archive: Record producer 38 years old handicap ADD/ dislexia/ can I g
By Trkboy2003 (Trkboy2003) on Tuesday, September 16, 2003 - 10:00 am: Edit

Hi I am a record producer from hollywood ca I have had some success/ major releases worldwide
I am 38 and I have had an extreme case of ADD, a small case of dislexia but I have managed to overcome the handicap about 90% with out the use of drugs and now I want to go back to college, I am more focused than I ever have been.... and here is my history....

I dropped out of SDSU when I was 23, I only had 2 more years to go and my gpa was 1.5 with 75 units earned and my major was music

at that time I took everything for granted, I came from a rich family my dad was a doctor, and I realized the meaning of the struggle (living in poverty) until 15 years later (I had been averaging $1200 a month in income for 14 of the 15 years, and my jobs before I made it as a record producer had been bartender, limo driver, shuttle driver, car salesman, stock broker)
in the present as we all know the music industry has died and my career is finished....(I lost my publishing deal last year so that income is gone...)
the days of charging 10k/ 25k/ 50k/ 100k a song are gone, record sales are way down (my record that is out should be selling 3-4 million but is only doing 300,000 at this time, and everyone now is doing projects on spec... record labels are not paying upfront anymore (if downloading of music did not exist things would be different...