Band- worth it?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: September 2003 Archive: Band- worth it?
By Frogman9595 (Frogman9595) on Friday, September 12, 2003 - 09:17 pm: Edit

I am a sophomore and hope to apply to top ivy league colleges. I am pursuing accelerated academics and so far have a 4.0 near the top of my class. However, I plan to take band all 4 years of high school, which will make it very difficult to stay ranked with the best of my class, since band is not honors. If I were to do well in band and participate in regional and state level honor bands, would this be worth it to compensate for a lower rank and possibly less AP classes? Would it be a strong EC? Would it be worth it even if I don't plan to major in anything related to music?

By Sooky6 (Sooky6) on Friday, September 12, 2003 - 10:00 pm: Edit

You will not be denied from any school solely on account of taking an arts course that is not available as an honors course. Sure its a good EC, depending on your commitment level. If it conflicts with an AP that you MUST take, try to get other participants together to lobby for it to offered at a different time? I did that in high school and succeeded!

One AP won't be the thing standing between you and a school you want to get into--focus on what you love. Colleges are looking for passion in a particular area. If its music, then great--if not, figure out what it is for now. No one here can tell you whether or not its worth it to you.

By Kcg (Kcg) on Saturday, September 13, 2003 - 05:00 pm: Edit

band is DEFINATELY worth it. Its what makes you stand out from all of the other high-ranking kids in your school. it also shows determination. stick to it!

By Asallan (Asallan) on Saturday, September 13, 2003 - 05:51 pm: Edit