UC Out of State

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: September 2003 Archive: UC Out of State
By Abz1986 (Abz1986) on Thursday, September 11, 2003 - 11:58 pm: Edit

How much harder is it to get into UC Berkeley, UCLA, or UCSD if you're not a resident? My concise stats are the following btw:

3.9 Non Weighted GPA (10.6% of class)
4.3 Weighted GPA (5.3% of class)
1360 SAT (retaking) /32 ACT
800 SAT II Chem, 760 SAT II History, Writing & Math TBA
Avg Extracurriculars (nothing esp noteworthy)
Avg Comm Service (Will prob accmulate to 100hr im hoping)
20hr/week job held for over a year

I know my stats aren't that great but what are the chances with that if I was a Cali Resident and if I'm not a cali resident (which I'm not, but my dad (not legal guardian) is resident there.. does that matter at all?).

By Cmaher (Cmaher) on Friday, September 12, 2003 - 01:02 am: Edit

wow 10.6% have higher than 3.9 UW in your school?

Anyways I think you will get in, unless that rank is not flawed.. If there are like a hundred people with 4.0s.. and fifty with higher weighted gpas than you and they are also applying, I think you will have a problem.

By Abz1986 (Abz1986) on Friday, September 12, 2003 - 02:24 pm: Edit

Yea my school's an above-average typical suburban high school. 3 Bs dropped me down by that much. Do you think I can get into all of those three?

By Abz1986 (Abz1986) on Friday, September 12, 2003 - 04:27 pm: Edit

hey check out my other topic called

All right guys: Rate my chances

Feedback is greatly appreciated... thanks!

By Abz1986 (Abz1986) on Friday, September 12, 2003 - 04:42 pm: Edit

I'm 37/397 unweighted and 19/397 weighted, so my percents are slightly better (I calculated my class size to be 349 in above figures). But yes our school is a above average school but theres alot of kids who try really hard and are smart (we have like 10 nms this year I think... and I'm not one fo them)