Currently a junior--what are my chances?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: September 2003 Archive: Currently a junior--what are my chances?
By Phantom (Phantom) on Wednesday, September 10, 2003 - 05:34 pm: Edit

I'm currently a junior at a prestigious public high school (ranked top 20 in the nation by Newsweek) and I'd like to know my chances for the Ivy Leagues, namely Harvard, Princeton (super-reaches), Columbia, Cornell, and U Penn and what I should do this year to improve my chances. I'd also like to know if the other schools I'm considering, NYU, Tufts, Georgetown, should be considered reaches, matches, or safeties.

GPA: 5.5 weighted out of 6.0 (weird GPA system, I know--basically I'm a straight-A student taking the hardest courses available; however, regular courses such as band, art, health, and the mandatory regular-level 9th grade courses are bringing my GPA down)
***Top 5% out of 150 students. No ranking system.
PSAT: have not taken yet, but I'm hoping to get Finalist standing.
SAT I: not yet, but I'm expecting to score 1540-1600 based on my scores in the 10 Real SATs book (i did get quite a few perfects).
SAT II: Chem-680 (bad, I know, but I'm not retaking)--I'm also planning to take Math IIC, Writing, and Bio sometime this year and score 750+.

Extracurricular Activities:

Editor on School Newspaper (9-12) (projected Editor-in-Chief)
Founder and president of chess club (11-12)
Quizbowl team captain-nationally ranked (top 50 out of thousands) (9-12)
Stage crew for school drama/musical (10-12) (projected technical director)
Youth Court judge (10-12)
2 week internship at County Department of Public Works (10-summer)
Nature Center internship (9-summer)
Tutoring for french, english, and math (9-12)
NY Mathletes High Scorer (by school standards)
AMC 10 high scorer (10) (confident of AIME this year; been doing alot of practice)
Small role in school drama (10)
Band/Pep Band (9-12)