Chances of a Chinese apply as international

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: September 2003 Archive: Chances of a Chinese apply as international
By Sturmstiger (Sturmstiger) on Sunday, September 07, 2003 - 10:45 pm: Edit

Hello,I am a high school student in China,considering to apply an US university.I didn't take any TOEFL or SATs yet,but I expect to take TOEFL on Oct and SAT on Nov.I am quite confident about my TOEFL(quite sure to get a 640+) and SAT Maths(I got 800 in the official sample test).But SAT Verbal is my nightmare,because of the vocabulary,and I expect to get only about 500-550.Other Status:
Rank 15 at a grade of 600(a top high school in my province).
Special Prize in National Student's English Contest.
1st Prize in National Olympics of Informations,with a best ranking 10th in China.
Outstanding Student in the province.
the only student represeniting "New Generation Youth" of the my city.
Editor and student incharge of the school broadcasting station.
Won different prizes in maths,English speech,Chinese speech,Chinese poem reading,singing contests of the city...
And because I already won the first prize in national olympics on information four times since 7th grade,I am qualified to go to some top Chinese universities without any entrance exams.
Broad interests,especially in computer programming(I wrote a pascal compiler in more than a thousand lines of code),so I may choose Computer Science as my major.

Okay,what are my chances to get in an ivy with full financial aid.And if the chances are low,what other good universities that may give me an offer with financial aid?
Thanks!

By Rubenizm (Rubenizm) on Sunday, September 07, 2003 - 11:20 pm: Edit

mmm....you will not get full finaid to an ivy league school. There are few who offer it to internationals and those that do, i doubt would give you 40k. You will need to take LOTS of loans, if you can get them.