Transfer from Brandeis

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: What Are My Chances?: September 2003 Archive: Transfer from Brandeis
By Dumbuket (Dumbuket) on Thursday, August 28, 2003 - 11:14 pm: Edit

Hey all.

I'm a freshman at Brandeis, and while it's an ok school, I've known since last May that I did not want to go here. Unfortunately, the scholarship they gave me, (about 30K a year) and my lack of other options essentially forced me to attend.

I am going to give this place a year, and if I still feel unhappy, then I am without a doubt going to transfer.

I understand that it takes time to adjust to the college life, and you can't judge a place after only being there a few days, but I've known what this school was about for some time, and the actual stress of living a way from home is minimal. I'm just not thrilled, impressed, or even content with this school.

So I'm going to list some stats from my high school career, and some courses I'm planning to take this year. I'd like to know about what my chances are at transferring to some of the schools my friends and relatives enjoyed and that I myself liked very much.

The schools are: Harvard, Stanford, Duke, Northwestern, Columbia, Swarthmore, UPenn, MIT, Brown, and Dartmouth. (yes, I'm aware that this is ambitious, but I'd like to trade up. There are only a few good research institutions above Brandeis, believe it or not).

I had an 800 Verbal, 670 Math
800 Bio
760 Chem
730 Writing

5's in the following AP's
European History
Biology
Chemistry
Language and Composition
Literature and Composition
US History
Macro and Micro Economics

I had 4's in the following APs

Psychology
American Government and Politics
AB Calculus

I had about a 3.9 GPA in High School, which put me in about the top 25 percent, (it was a competitive school)

I ran cross country, fenced, was on varsity quizbowl, and debated for a year

I'm a National Merit Scholar and a National AP Scholar.