Greetings from Vanderbilt - beyond HYPMS

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: Parents Forum: 2004 Archive - Part 2: Greetings from Vanderbilt - beyond HYPMS
By Evil_Robot (Evil_Robot) on Tuesday, September 28, 2004 - 01:40 am: Edit

Note: All current Vanderbilt information is towards the end, as the beginning is just summary.

Not all of you know me, as there are many new '05 parents here, so I'll do a little introduction/background.

I graduated in 2004 from a public magnet school in California. I received a 1600 on the SATI; 800, 800, 780 on the SAT2s; took the full International Baccalaureate program and graduated with the diploma; ended up taking 17 AP/IB courses (AP National Scholar with all but one test being a 5); took several college courses in math up through discrete math, multivariable calculus, differential equations, and linear algebra; and was part of many extracirriculars that were recognized in many venues. I had excellent teachers, excellent friends, and an excellent time in school. That's my resume, in brief and with plenty left out. I am currently majoring in mathematics and computer science at Vanderbilt in Nashville, Tennessee on a full-tuition-and-then-some scholarship courtesy of this generous university (which my parents are oh-so-grateful for). And really, all this isn't nearly as impressive as it seems. I just went with what I knew and ended up in a great position today. I got lucky.

I discovered College Confidential after taking my first (and last) SATI in January of 2003. After several months of various discussions on various forums, I began to get a reputation as a helpful person who knew way too much for his own good about college admissions. When admissions time rolled around, I had some difficult decisions to make.

I was accepted by: