Dorm Rooms and Allergies

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: Parents Forum: 2004 Archive - Part 2: Dorm Rooms and Allergies
By Kwtortoise (Kwtortoise) on Monday, September 27, 2004 - 10:06 pm: Edit

Hey parents. I'm a freshman in college, and have been here about a month. Every since I got here, my allergies have been really bad, and over-the-counter medications have not helped. I feel physically sick most of the day. I've limited the source to my dorm room, which is an old type--last on the list to be remodeled. I'm thinking we might have mold, because I have repeatedly cleaned the sources of dust, including having maintinence people vacuum out the air conditioner and change the filter.

The allergies are a lot worse when I am in my room, but they linger throughout the day. Any suggestion how to go about trying to get this taken care of, or switching rooms? I'm thinking it might be too late to switch rooms, and they couldn't change the carpet while we are here. So, I'm a bit stuck. Any advice is appreciated in this odd situation.

As for sources of allergens, it could be anything--the carpet, paint, fixtures, wood furniture, and curtains are all visably old. Thanks.

By Marite (Marite) on Monday, September 27, 2004 - 10:34 pm: Edit

There was a thread about allergies not long ago. Do a search for allegy relief mattress cover. I think it's Valpal's kid who is very allergic. There were some suggestions dealing with dust mites.

By Rhonda63 (Rhonda63) on Tuesday, September 28, 2004 - 11:10 am: Edit

Kw -- I think you need to contact reslife and tell them your problem and what you think the source is. It is possible they will move you to a newer dorm based on legitimate health concerns. A first step might be to go to the health center, if you haven't already -- tell them the problem. They may prescribe something, but make sure they're not going to give you medicine that makes you drowsy, b/c then you won't be able to take it during the day.