AP Courses PLEASE ANSWER

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: Parents Forum: 2004 Archive - Part 2: AP Courses PLEASE ANSWER
By Bballplayer (Bballplayer) on Sunday, September 05, 2004 - 11:33 am: Edit

I'm a HS Sophomore. My school offers only 4 APs.
What should I do about that. I have plans to attend Yale Harvard G-Town & some other top schools.I know I'll probably take some local CC classes. I will take 2 of them before graduation but the other two i can't take them. Any ideas or suggestions. i know that top schools like to see APs. I want to major in poltical science. Do u know of any Summer programs

By Marite (Marite) on Sunday, September 05, 2004 - 11:54 am: Edit

What are the APs that you school offers? Colleges are aware that some schools do not offer many APs, if any and will take that into account. If you take cc courses, make sure to include your transcript, the catalog description of the course and its syllabus in with your application so that adcoms will have a way of evaluating the rigor of the course. You may also be able to take the AP exam in that particular topic. All you need to do is to sign up for it. If you want to find out more about the curriculum for each specific exam, go to collegeboard.com and look up the AP site. If your school does not offer AP exams in certain subjects, you may have to go to another school to take the AP exam.

Many colleges have summer programs with courses on politics. Check out their websites. There are as well summer programs such as CTY and Northwestern's Center for Talent Development. Consider summer and academic year internships as well.

By Soozievt (Soozievt) on Sunday, September 05, 2004 - 01:12 pm: Edit