Do You Believe In Single Sex Education?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: Parents Forum: 2004 Archive - Part 2: Do You Believe In Single Sex Education?
By Mom101 (Mom101) on Sunday, August 15, 2004 - 10:27 pm: Edit

Interesting article in the SF Chronicle today about feminist groups being opposed to single sex public schools. And the Bush administration, too. What does everyone think?

By Cheers (Cheers) on Sunday, August 15, 2004 - 11:48 pm: Edit

They have single sex public schools in NZ and they seem to be popular. No biggie. Female Prime Minister too. Heaps of feminists who could care less.

I went to a single sex high school and the single sexedness was the only thing I liked. Didn't want to bother with boys 24/7 during high school. (4 brothers).

By Jordana (Jordana) on Monday, August 16, 2004 - 12:27 am: Edit

Well I am not a parent, but as a student I really like the idea of single sex schools, or atleast single sex classrooms. Al ot of studies have shown that kids in grades 3-12 learn better in a single sex environment. From what I have read, many public schools are seperating the boys and girls during the core subjects like, English, Math, and Science, but the kids are brought back together for lunch and electives. Most of the kids in these studies have said that having single sex classrooms relieves a lot of stress and most of the students grades have improved. I think that it is a great idea, and it would proabley be a lot easier on the teachers too, not having to deal with all the boy girl drama. I wouldn't really like completly single sex schools though because all children need to learn how to work with the opposite sex.

By Entropicgirl (Entropicgirl) on Monday, August 16, 2004 - 04:09 am: Edit