Parents' visions-update

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: Parents Forum: 2004 Archive - Part 2: Parents' visions-update
By Wolfpiper (Wolfpiper) on Sunday, August 08, 2004 - 04:20 pm: Edit

Hi,
I have an update regarding outside PE, schedules, and parents. Basically, outside PE is 5 hrs. per week, which'll take up a huge chunk of time but might allow me to take another AP class (weak schedule). If I don't do outside PE, I can continue aikidou and horseback riding, both of which I really like. My mom's very worried about the school denying credit for outside PE (I must admit I could see that happening), and she considers my schedule "very hard." But look at it:

(Schedule)
First semster
Honors Japanese IV
AP English
PreAP Chem (hardest I can take, but I plan to double up on science courses next year)
Aerobics/Psychology

Second semester
APUSH
Japanese V Honors
AP Art History
Algebra 2 (I am a pretty good algebra student, so I will most likely move into Honors)

What do you think I should do? I've love to stay with aikidou and riding, but my schedule needs as much help as it can get:(.

My mom really thinks the fact that I've had to overcome a lot of stuff with my disability will help, and she won't believe they don't care about that. I think part of their general resistance is that my brother and I are such different students. He' BRILLANT when it comes to computers and electronics and is a really sweet kid, but he is much more low key and laid back than I am about school, chosing to go to a small instate school. They don't really know about the ultra competive admissions climate because my brother never wanted to go an ultra competive school.

Oh, I've suggested Gatekeepers and A is for Admissions to my parents. I'm hoping they'll read them. Thanks for the suggestions!

By Marite (Marite) on Sunday, August 08, 2004 - 04:48 pm: Edit

Wolfpiper: