How do we define "success" for our children?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: Parents Forum: 2004 Archive - Part 2: How do we define "success" for our children?
By Constancet (Constancet) on Tuesday, August 03, 2004 - 10:23 am: Edit

I was wondering if anyone had done any research into colleges and universities that might encourage personal growth in addition to academics. I was an attorney before I was a stay at home mom and I knew a lot of miserable human beings who had sterling resumes from the "right places". If anyone knows about John Kerry's brother, Cam, and his campaign to turn St. Paul's school into a more human place you'll know what I'm talking about. I went to good colleges, but I am trying to encourage my children to look into post secondary school experiences that might not be the same old introduction into the rat race...places where they might grow as human beings instead of just experiencing competition and one-upsmanship.
I define "success" for my children as growing up to be happy, well adjusted, kind and caring individuals who know how to think outside the box.

Is there anyone on this website who has worried about this and looked into the subject? What colleges would you recommend?

By Alexandre (Alexandre) on Tuesday, August 03, 2004 - 10:29 am: Edit

I would never rely on a university to teach values or personal growth to my children. I think that's something nobody is better qualified to teach than the child's parents. Just my opinion. Of course, I have no kids to speak of, so what do I know?! LOL

But I agree with your definition of success 100%.

By Patient (Patient) on Tuesday, August 03, 2004 - 10:34 am: Edit

Constancet...reading your post before running off to court (I have always been a "stay-at-home-in-the-afternoon" mom)...