General Score Reporting Question

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: July 2004 Archive: General Score Reporting Question
By Spork (Spork) on Tuesday, July 27, 2004 - 02:07 pm: Edit

I am relatively uninformed about the American educational system, so I would like to pose a few questions that bewilder me. Last year, as a freshman, I took the SAT II in World History. However, I did not choose to send my scores to a specific college, as I do not yet know which college I want to attend. Thus, will my score, which I recieved via www.collegeboard.com, still be valid since I did not specify a college to send my scores to? Also, is it necessary to keep a portfolio of such scores as AP, SAT, and ACT tests?

In addition, in doing volunteer work, is it not recommended that one keeps a portfolio encompassing his/her hours, areas of work, etc? What specific information should I keep in this portfolio?

Thanks.

By Ohio_Mom (Ohio_Mom) on Tuesday, July 27, 2004 - 04:41 pm: Edit

Hi, Spork
when you send your SAT scores to colleges they all go - SAT's and SAT II's. You will want to be able to present 2 or 3 very good SAT II's scores to your colleges: one should be math, and another science if you are interested in that. You don't need to take SAT II's in everything - just your best subjects.

Keeping track of your hours, awards and so on is always good. Also, think about obtaining a letter of recommendation from your supervisor in these activities; they can keep it on file, and then send directly to schools when you apply.

By Tanman (Tanman) on Tuesday, July 27, 2004 - 04:43 pm: Edit

The Collegeboard keeps a permanent record of all your SAT I and SAT II scores, so in the future, when you send a SAT score report to a college, it will include all your previously taken SAT exams. The ACT isn't run by the CB and I'm not sure how they do score reports