Low score on AP Calc- will this hurt me in college admission

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: July 2004 Archive: Low score on AP Calc- will this hurt me in college admission
By Silmon77 (Silmon77) on Monday, July 12, 2004 - 11:46 pm: Edit

I got a 2 on the BC test, and a 3 on the AB subscore. Will this hurt me when applying to the top schools, as I'm gunning for engineering? Is it better to not report on application at all? And also, would the AB subscore qualify me as an AP Scholar (I got a 5 in US History and 4 in Chemistry)?

By Paulhomework (Paulhomework) on Tuesday, July 13, 2004 - 01:09 am: Edit

First of all, i'm no expert so my comment might be TOTALLY wrong.

Anyway, by top schools if you mean MIT/Caltech, then I think it will hurt you a lot. Not reporting the schore might also look bad, as I'm sure a lot of other students will reports scores, mostly 4s and 5s.

For other top-tier schools it will hurt you, but not as much. It all depends on how much that school emphasizes AP test grades in admission process.

BTW I'm not sure about the scholar stuff, but I think AB Calc counts for half a year (one semester).

By Twinkletoes696 (Twinkletoes696) on Tuesday, July 13, 2004 - 01:11 am: Edit

Nah, I don't think AP scores can be counted against you in admission. Low ones probably won't affect anything; high ones can only help.

By Maryville (Maryville) on Tuesday, July 13, 2004 - 02:42 am: Edit

AP scores has NO effect in admission. Why would a university penalize you for taking a test that is optional, especially when it's primarily used for advanced credit?

By Chrisq (Chrisq) on Tuesday, July 13, 2004 - 03:00 am: Edit