The Art of Problem-Solving--Worth It?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: July 2004 Archive: The Art of Problem-Solving--Worth It?
By Loop123 (Loop123) on Saturday, July 10, 2004 - 03:57 pm: Edit

I'm a rising sophomore interested in competing in some of the math competitions next year (AMC, hopefully AIME). I find questions on the SAT easy, but I always seem to hit my limit on questions 12-15 on the AMC 12 or about 3-5 on the AIME. Is it possible to raise these scores with practice? The Art of Problem Solving book seems interesting and may be able to help me, but is it worth it? Can the same resources be found online? Also, I'm a rising sophomore who has yet to take trigonometry/precalculus. Would knowledge of these fundamentals make a significant difference in my performance? I'm new to this whole process and excuse me if I'm oblivious to something very obvious. Thanks guys.

By Billiam2 (Billiam2) on Saturday, July 10, 2004 - 03:59 pm: Edit

Get it. I wouldn't have gone far in contests without it

By Texas137 (Texas137) on Saturday, July 10, 2004 - 06:32 pm: Edit

The Art of Problem Solving books are great! Well worth the money. I sponsor a math team, and all of the serious competitors have used these, including 3 USAMO qualifiers. There is nothing else comparable for preparing for contests. Their forums are well-worth hanging out on also. www.artofproblemsolving.com

By Apocalypse_Now (Apocalypse_Now) on Saturday, July 10, 2004 - 08:05 pm: Edit

Learning trig/precalc will definitely help a lot, especially on AIME. So i suggest taking such a class as soon as possible. I don't know about AOPS book though. My advice is to buy copies of old AMC and AIME tests. I hear they're pretty cheap.

By Benzinspeicher (Benzinspeicher) on Saturday, July 10, 2004 - 10:09 pm: Edit