Verbal Help Please!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: June 2004 Archive: Verbal Help Please!
By Shoo_Shakin (Shoo_Shakin) on Tuesday, June 22, 2004 - 08:55 pm: Edit

hi, I wanted to increase my verbal score by a lot, i had a 560 and i want to make at least 650...can anyone tell me how, because i studied a whole stack of vocabulary, and apparently it didn't do much. so any thoughts or advice is appreciated.

By Neolinski (Neolinski) on Tuesday, June 22, 2004 - 09:50 pm: Edit

there is a lot of thread about this. (current SAT)

And at the last of all thread, i think, i concluded this two things are essential.
vocab skills(vocab list + reading), practice a lot.

I am in very same situation(worse than your score) like you
and i want to boost it even up to 700.
i know it seems so not possible but i am trying.
right now(i just started to study), i am memorizing vocabs.

good luck on your studying and SAT.

p.s : the fact that "a whole stack of vocabulary" didnt help you, surprised me.. um.

By Geniusash (Geniusash) on Wednesday, June 23, 2004 - 02:13 am: Edit

Read. Anything, anytime. Also study stems/roots/prefixes/sufixes they will help you decipher words you don't know without having to memorize lengthy lists.

By Physiclas87 (Physiclas87) on Wednesday, June 23, 2004 - 10:47 pm: Edit

Memorize memorize memorize words.
I heard Barron's SAT prep book has an awesome 3500 word list that I am going to memorize. If you know almost every word on your SAT, how could you do bad?

By Encomium (Encomium) on Wednesday, June 23, 2004 - 10:59 pm: Edit

I can offer tips:

1. Use Sadlier-Oxford Vocab Books, do the exercises, and memorize the definitions. Then, use the words in your own sentences.