Clueless about Critical Reading

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: July 2004 Archive: Clueless about Critical Reading
By Sk6488 (Sk6488) on Sunday, June 20, 2004 - 08:40 pm: Edit

I took many practise SATS but i am having trouble improving my verbal score. On 5 tests I have got between 600-650. My biggest problem is by far the Critical Reading Section. I get most of the wrong and I dont even Know why they are wrong. Since I have seen some outrageously high scores on the Verbal section by some of the people on the board. PLEASE share your wisdom and enlighten me and all the other clueless people on this board how to do well on the CR section.
PLEASE

By Energy1 (Energy1) on Sunday, June 20, 2004 - 08:52 pm: Edit

I am by no means an expert on CR but I know this for a fact.

All of your answers in non A/B passages will come in order.

So if the answer to question #3 is found in line 10, the answer to question #4 cant be found in line 7.

But that's not to say that hints cannot be found in such places.

By Isabella (Isabella) on Sunday, June 20, 2004 - 09:21 pm: Edit

What practice tests are you taking? That will have a big impact on your practice test scores because some of the companies that write their own questions don't quite get the CR stuff right. Do 10 Real SATs and Princeton Review tests, and if you're still not scoring well, try PR's techniques for CR. Otherwise, the best way to improve CR is to just read, every day.

By Beth1486 (Beth1486) on Sunday, June 20, 2004 - 09:30 pm: Edit

The thing to keep in mind is that one answer is obviously right and the others are obviously wrong. The people who right the tests won't give you a question with two possible answers and the answers always come directly from the passages. With practice you will be able to do better.

By Energy1 (Energy1) on Sunday, June 20, 2004 - 10:39 pm: Edit