Was 1510 just lucky on my timed practice test?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: June 2004 Archive: Was 1510 just lucky on my timed practice test?
By Happeepanda (Happeepanda) on Friday, June 18, 2004 - 03:22 pm: Edit

The first time I took the actual SAT, I had not studied at all and got a 1280(660M,620V) in October 2003. Then, I studied test format and instructions and a little vocab and got a 1300(660M,640V) the second time in March.

Just about a week ago, I took a practice test from 10 real SAT's (full length test) and I got a 1390(700M,690V). I had not studied at all, but it was different from the real SAT because I did not time myself (I took as long as I needed) and I did most of it at 1 o'clock in the morning.

Just yesterday, I took the next practice test in the book and timed myself and made the conditions as closes as possible to real testing conditions. No interruptions, no water, nothing in my working area. I got a 1510(760M,750V). The only thing I did to study from the practice test the week before was do maybe 10 of the sentence completion questions in the beginning part of the book.

Is it likely that I will be able to get this score on the real SAT when I take in October 2004??? Or was 1510 just lucky??

By Acethesats (Acethesats) on Friday, June 18, 2004 - 07:10 pm: Edit

I'd say give or take 50 points is probably what your real score would be if all conditions are met. Taken the test at your own home is still less stressful then at the test center because you are familiar with your own home.

My 2 cents

By Skiowad (Skiowad) on Friday, June 18, 2004 - 07:20 pm: Edit

It depends, ace. Some people tend to do better under stress, I know I do, well, at least for tests.Others do not. But yes, expect it to increase/decrease based on you and how close you followed the timing.