Anybody else feeling the effects of the SAT 2 Writing Test??

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: June 2004 Archive: Anybody else feeling the effects of the SAT 2 Writing Test??
By Jer728 (Jer728) on Wednesday, June 16, 2004 - 05:27 pm: Edit

Ever since I studied for the test, I can not seem to bring myself to use the improper grammar that I had become so used to using. Even when posting on this site I find myself proofreading for mistakes in usage, tense, etc.. Also, I swear that I am seeing letters under each part of my sentences! Anybody else?

By Irock1ce (Irock1ce) on Wednesday, June 16, 2004 - 05:28 pm: Edit

dude that test sucked ass.

By Energy1 (Energy1) on Wednesday, June 16, 2004 - 05:42 pm: Edit

Well, it can't be bad in the long run.

By Jer728 (Jer728) on Wednesday, June 16, 2004 - 05:45 pm: Edit

True but its irritating.

By Monoe (Monoe) on Wednesday, June 16, 2004 - 06:00 pm: Edit

That test does not reflect the true state of current English grammar - they write an ambiguous sentence and expect you to pick one thing wrong with it, when there are really several.

I dislike the exam because it is too obtuse - it's not meant for people who can write; it's meant for those who can memorize the rules they give, which aren't the real rules of English grammar.

By Jer728 (Jer728) on Wednesday, June 16, 2004 - 06:11 pm: Edit

I just figured they were obscure rules that nobody really paid attention to.

By Cognitio (Cognitio) on Wednesday, June 16, 2004 - 10:33 pm: Edit