Progression of Math Classes

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: June 2004 Archive: Progression of Math Classes
By Loop123 (Loop123) on Monday, June 14, 2004 - 11:16 pm: Edit

Hello, I'm currently a sophomore in trigonometry/precalculus and I was wondering what math class I should take after AP Calculus next year. I've heard that mathematics diverges into several categories after Calculus, and I would appreciate any comments or recommendations. Thanks guys.

By Altf4 (Altf4) on Monday, June 14, 2004 - 11:35 pm: Edit

i'm taking prob/stats AP senior year, or i might try some applied math and stuff, but i really want to challenge myself with the AP

after calculus, most math becomes increasingly abstract, and that may be viewed by some as hard and by others as easier because it is primarily dependent on how different minds are constructed.

what does ur school offer? it would be advisable to take the 4th year of math.

By Sirhcv (Sirhcv) on Monday, June 14, 2004 - 11:42 pm: Edit

hmm i assume AP calculus will be calculus BC meaning calc I and II, if its just calc I then take calc II.
But assuming its not you have a vareity of options. Your school most likely does not offer anything beyond calc II so you'll be looking at a local college (all the better!!) You could take multivarible calc, diff-eq, linear algerbra and probably a few others. Although I'd recommend taking multivarible calc, that seems to be the normal progession and it isnt bad. Usally its only one semester so you could take that then diff-eq or something else. Hope this is helpful =D

By Sirhcv (Sirhcv) on Monday, June 14, 2004 - 11:42 pm: Edit

hmmm dont take AP stat, stat is very very very easy, especially for someone thats taken calculus the year before...

EDIT:
Hmmm let me clarify that... take it early, and then only to suppliment another math course, do not go from calculus to AP Stat, BIG NO NO !!!!