MATH 2c need help

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: June 2004 Archive: MATH 2c need help
By Altf4 (Altf4) on Sunday, June 13, 2004 - 06:39 pm: Edit

hello everyone, i'm looking for a review book for math 2c, BUT i want one that is almost like a textbook in the clarity of the explanations, something that is very thorough to help me review what i learned in pre-calculus this year(i'm a sophomore, will any calculus be needed?)

should i just re read my math textbook? will that help?

By Welshie (Welshie) on Sunday, June 13, 2004 - 07:02 pm: Edit

No Calculus is needed. I used the REA Math IIC book and it did a solid job of covering what I needed to know for the real deal however, it does as horrid job of teaching it. In fact, the book is geared away from teaching the information and instead opts for a more "here's what you need to know" approach. Because of my mathematical background, I was comfortable with that as I only needed to rehash old information/formulas. Using the REA book and taking some practice questions from Princeton Review and here on CC I came away with an "easy" 800 (I hate to sound pompous but I felt very prepared on the test). CC is your best source, at least it was for me.

-Jesse

By Altf4 (Altf4) on Sunday, June 13, 2004 - 07:16 pm: Edit

there are practice tests on CC? where are these questions that you speak of?

thanks

By Welshie (Welshie) on Monday, June 14, 2004 - 01:32 am: Edit

No practice tests but about two weeks before the test there is a flood of posts about the IIC and that is always good practice. Sorry about the misdirection.

-Jesse

By Altf4 (Altf4) on Monday, June 14, 2004 - 01:38 am: Edit

kk thanks for clearing that up, anyone else?

By Madd87 (Madd87) on Monday, June 14, 2004 - 09:28 pm: Edit

If you just finished precal you should be fine... it's fresh in your mind. Don't sweat it. Barrons is the best though.