Kaplan SAT Prep Courses

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: April 2004 Archive: Kaplan SAT Prep Courses
By Skolamaze79 (Skolamaze79) on Tuesday, April 20, 2004 - 05:35 pm: Edit

I'm currently a sophomore in high school, and I took the PSAT last October and got a so-so score (181). My guidance counselor recommended that I take a Kaplan course to plan for the New PSAT's, the current SAT's, and then the New SAT's. I'm kinda skeptical because of all the money it costs, but I do hope to get into a competive college or university one day and therefore, need a score on par with the other applicants. I was wondering if anyone who took a Kaplan prep course for the SAT could possibly comment on how crucial it was to their success on the the test and if you think that it was worth all the money. Thanks

By Yoyomama04 (Yoyomama04) on Wednesday, April 21, 2004 - 01:17 am: Edit

Does Kaplan have their course out yet for the new SATs? I would definitely not take a course for both the old SATs and the new one. That's a waste of time and money. Take a course for the new SAT only and don't bother with the old SAT. You're going to have to take the new one anyway.

And I wouldn't do Kaplan. Princeton Review is the runaway leader in SAT prep courses - they are much better at it. Go with them. It will be money well spent.

By Shortcakefairy (Shortcakefairy) on Thursday, April 22, 2004 - 12:25 pm: Edit

I don't know...i truly felt Kaplan was a BIG help.

I got a 200 on my PSAT
and my score on the SAT was 1370

obviously the most crucial practice is what you do on YOUR own and how much outside time you spend preparing...but i do think that Kaplan provided good assistance and was time well spent

By Xiggi (Xiggi) on Thursday, April 22, 2004 - 02:00 pm: Edit

Will it be money well spent? No!