SATII's for tenth graders

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: April 2004 Archive: SATII's for tenth graders
By Soapbrush (Soapbrush) on Monday, April 12, 2004 - 12:41 am: Edit

Greetings...

I am a tenth-grade student at a small public school with an (unfortunately) extremely weak academic curriculum and little staff involvement with academic pursuits; consequently, I have heard nothing of the SATII tests.
On CollegeBoard's website, a tenth-grade college planning tool suggests taking SATII tests in my "strong subjects" at the end of tenth grade; as I know extremely little of the SATII's, though, I am unsure as to the practicality of undertaking an SATII test so soon.

Thus, I am interested in knowing if any of you took any SATII tests in tenth grade and, if so, which specific tests these were, how you performed on them, if you ever took the test on any subsequent occasions and which tests you saved for later years (presumably the end of your junior year...or...thereabouts...am I far off?)

Furthermore, any comments pertaining to the SATII's transformation given the upcoming refinements to the SAT testing system would be appreciated as well - should I, perchance, postpone taking any SATII tests until the "new tests" are available?

By Tanman (Tanman) on Monday, April 12, 2004 - 12:55 am: Edit

You should take the SAT II's that go with whatever classes you are taking. If you've taken Honors Chemistry, for example, you may want to take the SAT II Chemistry. I took precalculus my sophomore year and took the SAT II Math IIC the following June. I put off taking science exams until after I took the AP class. This June I will be taking Writing, Biology M and possibly Chemistry since I'm taking Chem and Bio AP this year.
If you're unsure of how well your classes have prepared you for the SAT II's, go to your library and look through some of the SAT II prep books.