How To Get a 1600 in One Year

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: April 2004 Archive: How To Get a 1600 in One Year
By Nyu2010 (Nyu2010) on Sunday, April 11, 2004 - 05:54 pm: Edit

I'm a sophomore in high school and my SAT score (well, according to the PSAT) was an 1150. 70 V, 45 M. I have one year before I take the SAT (the new one). What should I be doing right now? The new study guides for SAT 2005 aren't out yet, they will be this summer, but what can I be doing now? Or this summer? How many hours should I study a day? I'm determined to get a 1500+!

By Nyu2010 (Nyu2010) on Sunday, April 11, 2004 - 05:57 pm: Edit

I didn't study at all for the PSAT and I hadn't taken Geometry at the time of testing so therefore I just omitted all Geometry questions (is Geometry capitalized in that sentence?) and I got all the Algebra questions right but half the test is Geometry. Whoa run-on sentence.

By Kewlkiwi102 (Kewlkiwi102) on Sunday, April 11, 2004 - 06:01 pm: Edit

DO DO DO study the existing books- the test isnt changing that much. Do all of 10 reals, do Kaplan's Writing SAT II book, do Gruber's math review. This is not a waste of time, but will give you a very solid background and review concepts you might have forgotten. For verbal, reading those passages can never hurt. Then when the new books come out, get those and do the practice tests also!
Maybe a math IC prep book would give you the trig stuff for math?
WIth determination and hard work you will get anything you want.
Good luck!
~Kiwi
PS, I do really really hope you get more than a 1500....seeing as the new one will be out of 2400 ;) :P.

By Nyu2010 (Nyu2010) on Sunday, April 11, 2004 - 06:35 pm: Edit

Oh hahahaahahaha. Okay I will start reviewing the current books. I have quite a few.

By Kewlkiwi102 (Kewlkiwi102) on Sunday, April 11, 2004 - 06:38 pm: Edit

Sorry....little hyper right now :)
Good luck on your quest to 2400!
~Kiwi