SAT dilemma...for sophomore's

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: April 2004 Archive: SAT dilemma...for sophomore's
By Haithman (Haithman) on Saturday, April 10, 2004 - 11:07 pm: Edit

Ok so I am a sophomore in HS right now and have signed up for the June 5 SAT. I know that I have the potential to score reasonably high (aiming for 1450+). The problem is that I am a sophomore and there is rumor going around that colleges will only accept the New SAT coming out next March. I want to get the SAT over with (and the SAT II Writing in October) so that I may focus on other important things like Extracurriculars, SAT II's, and AP exams. I know that in the New York Sun a couple of weeks ago they said that colleges would still accept the current SAT for us sophomores and on collegeboard's website it lists colleges that will still accept the current SAT as long as you also provide an SAT II Writing component. Well the schools that I wish to apply to are on that list (you can see them in my profile) so I thought I was safe, but on this site everyone says that sophomores have to take the New SAT. Can someone please help me out?
Thank You

By Haithman (Haithman) on Saturday, April 10, 2004 - 11:39 pm: Edit

By Varr (Varr) on Sunday, April 11, 2004 - 12:11 am: Edit

Im a current sophomore as well, I understand your concern about the NEW SAT, Im gonna take the NEW SAT in May, AND RETAKE IN OCTOBER.
SATII BIO M - October 2004
SATII CHEM- NOVEMBER 2004
SATII MATHIIC- JUNE 2005

NEW SAT - MAY 2005 RETAKE OCTOBER 2005??

why not as the schools directly??

By Drusba (Drusba) on Sunday, April 11, 2004 - 10:07 am: Edit