Help on the sat!!!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: April 2004 Archive: Help on the sat!!!
By Jbaby262 (Jbaby262) on Saturday, April 10, 2004 - 12:09 pm: Edit

ok..well heres the deal..im only a freshman and i scored a 1120..totally bombed it. I'm pretty pissed cause i thought i would do well, but im guessing im not that well of a test taker as i thought of myself. Anyways..i need help obviously so could anyone suggest some books that would be helpful especially in the verbal..i have barron's sat but i dont know how to go about it since everyone on this site says the tests in barrons arent worth the time anways. also i got a 650 on my math and im in ap calc and im a freshman..i think i just need help.....

By Studyguy346 (Studyguy346) on Saturday, April 10, 2004 - 12:34 pm: Edit

ap calc as a freshman? If you want some advice, mine is to calm down. You have plenty of time until you take the SAT. If you're really worried, buy 10 real SATs, read the strategys and review sections and take a couple of practice tests. See where you're weak and then you can improve. Once again, you have PLENTY of time.

By Kousuke (Kousuke) on Saturday, April 10, 2004 - 01:47 pm: Edit

if youre getting 650 on your SAT math, you shouldnt be in AP calc, especially if youre still a freshman. It means either you dont know how to bubble things in or youre only in the class, not because you enjoy/are good at math, but because you want to look like a genius on a college ap. Remember that 1120 will follow you all the way to college, and no offense but that wont be too impressive, even if it was your freshman year. you should have waited a couple more yours before your decided to take it. Did you take any practice tests? was there any reason why you wanted to take the test before your peak?

By Jbaby262 (Jbaby262) on Sunday, April 11, 2004 - 09:10 pm: Edit