To all those who got 1550+ on the March SATS...

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: April 2004 Archive: To all those who got 1550+ on the March SATS...
By Laurenh87 (Laurenh87) on Thursday, April 08, 2004 - 06:38 pm: Edit

How did you study? (And if you didn't study, don't tell me because that is just not fair!) Any tricks? Math tricks would be especially helpful becuase my math was 80 points lower than verbal. Thanks!

By Stanforduniv (Stanforduniv) on Thursday, April 08, 2004 - 07:04 pm: Edit

hmmmm, i got a 1590 on the sat, but I didnt study for the math section. I studied my butt off for the verbal and I was getting a 600 before I worked (790 on actual test). I would say the best way to study for the verbal is to take at least 2 practice tests a week, be completely familiar with the section, and never stop studying the vocab! it does pay off. good luck!

By Kevinkleinz (Kevinkleinz) on Thursday, April 08, 2004 - 07:12 pm: Edit

I got a 1570 (800M/770V) and I really didn't study at all. People are going to call me arrogant probably, but I really don't see how you study for the SATs besides learning vocab and doing a few practice tests (and in my opinion, all of the Kaplan/Barrons/PR SAT I - excluding their SAT II and AP books - are a complete waste of time and money). So if you really want to study, I suggest purchasing 10 Real SATs or some past disclosed tests from Xiggi as well as looking over a whole bunch of SAT vocab. I actually know a kid in my grade who was concerned more about the SATs than his actual classes and spent all of his nights learning vocab words and doing practice tests rather than his homework. The point of this is that he memorized 5,000 words from the site http://www.freevocabulary.com. So if you want to really overdo it, visit that site.

-Kevin

By Stanforduniv (Stanforduniv) on Thursday, April 08, 2004 - 09:01 pm: Edit