Improving from a 1400 to 1500+

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: April 2004 Archive: Improving from a 1400 to 1500+
By Runrickyrun123 (Runrickyrun123) on Monday, April 05, 2004 - 09:26 pm: Edit

I am a pretty good student and get about a 1400-1500 on my practice SATs, but I can't seem to get to the next level. I read these SAT manuals, but they all tell me the same trivial stuff (make bridges, use context clues, eliminate answer choices, etc.). I am taking the May Sat I, how would I best study to go from this 1400-1500 range to perhaps the mid 1500s?
Thanks

By Guyute (Guyute) on Monday, April 05, 2004 - 11:48 pm: Edit

Practice tests. Practice tests. Practice tests. One or two a week every week until you take the test. It is a beatable test, you work at it and you will beat it. Two months of practice tests netted me a 1580 on my first try. I will never forget the math question I missed.

By Runrickyrun123 (Runrickyrun123) on Tuesday, April 06, 2004 - 04:53 pm: Edit

hmmm your probably right...i was hoping there was some sort of catch where i can easily raise my score in little time
it's frustrating to read these sat books that spend half the time explaining how a grid-in works.
(If anyone has any big tips they'd be appreciated)

By Songster87 (Songster87) on Tuesday, April 06, 2004 - 05:29 pm: Edit

Unless you have serious gaps in your math curriculum, i.e. you were never taught the pythag theorem, never read prep books. They're terrible.

Instead, work on practice tests and make sure you UNDERSTAND EVERY SINGLE ANSWER YOU GET WRONG. That's the biggest mistake people make. "Oh hey, let's just take practice tests and bask at our great practice test scores while never figuring out why we keep getting 10+ wrong."