New SAT question

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: April 2004 Archive: New SAT question
By Titanz05 (Titanz05) on Friday, April 02, 2004 - 11:18 pm: Edit

I understand that the "new SAT" will being in March 2005. It will have no analogies, more math, and an ESSAY.

i'm a sophmore and graduating high school in 2006; will i have to take the "new SAT" ?
I really dont wanna be the first class to take the new SAT because itd we weird and i wouldnt know how to prepare for it ahead of time.

should i / can i take the SAT before March 2005 and would it be cool with colleges?

I also heard colleges REQUIRE sophmores to take the new SAT..

any remarks apprecaited.

By Haithman (Haithman) on Friday, April 02, 2004 - 11:28 pm: Edit

Well I am also a sophomore but I just plan on taking the current SAT in June because I feel I can score pretty high. The UC's will require the New SAT but from what i've heard all other schools will still accept the current SAT as long as you also supply an SAT II Writing component.

By Songster87 (Songster87) on Saturday, April 03, 2004 - 04:39 pm: Edit

If you live in a Northeastern state where the SAT dominates and you opt to take the ACT instead...colleges aren't stupid. They'll knew something is up.

Likewise, if you're in the sophomore test and you try to rush in and take the old SAT to avoid the new one, colleges will be very wary and suspicious of you.

If you study the same way as for the old SAT and for the SAT II writing, you should be fine. Everyone's standards will be lower, as well. And since everyone will do worse, you will be at no disadvantage.

In fact, an argument can be made for the BENEFIT of the new SAT. Because the new SAT means that studying will hard to do, which means you won't feel obligated to study as much. =)

By Xiggi (Xiggi) on Saturday, April 03, 2004 - 05:34 pm: Edit