My life story on the SAT

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: October 2003 Archive: My life story on the SAT
By Mk1o3o (Mk1o3o) on Saturday, October 25, 2003 - 03:41 am: Edit

anyone interested in how I studied and prepped for the SAT? I hope it helps someone.

The first SAT I that I ever took was in May 2003. I started preparing for it a week before, and I was confident that I would receive 1400+ on it.

Two weeks later, I was stunned at my 1340. 600 Verbal and 740 Math. (1340 is not half-bad btw, so please no one get offended because of the fact that I don't like that score) First, my Korean parents pretty much killed me for that one. Second, it made me drop my cockiness and made me realize that if I wanted to improve, I would have to actually study for it.

Over the summer, I did what most asian kids did to prepare for the SAT. Study the Princeton Review Hit Parade List, make flashcards, and aim to study thousands of vocab words. I did not take any practice SAT's over the summer, because I wasn't aware of how effective they would be. I ended up memorizing only about 500 words. To all those who say they can memorize 2000+ words, I don't know how you people do it.

In August, I found CC while looking for something random. I never even knew sites like this existed. My first impression: what a bunch of preppy, sheltered freaks who think they're all smart and want to go to Ivy League colleges. But after a couple of my own questions were answered, I didn't really care who the people here were. CC has been very helpful to me.