TOEFL

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: May 2003 Archive: TOEFL
By Rubenizm (Rubenizm) on Sunday, May 25, 2003 - 07:49 pm: Edit

Ok i'm a sophomore and i've been in the US since august 2001. When i came to the US, i immediately took honors english and got B's freshman year, now i have A's for both semesters in honors english 10 and i'm taking AP next year. My verbal SAT is around 650 right now and my writing PSAT was a 78.

Columbia and several other schools i'm interested in require you to take the TOEFL. Columbia requires it if your language of instruction for the past 5 years wasn't english and if english isn't your first language.

So is it bad if colleges see that i took the TOEFL even if i get a perfect or near perfect score? I mean will i be judged... differently?

Cuz my brother had been in the States for less than 2 years, he never took it and he didn't have problems about it at any of the schools he applied to.

And to tell you the truth i don't wanna take it. It costs money and time. I might be able to get away with it, but should I?

By M_Eduardo (M_Eduardo) on Sunday, May 25, 2003 - 09:03 pm: Edit

you are required if english is your second language. It is expensive, around $100, and it does take long. I scored a 287/300 without prep. You can probably score a perfect which will look really good.

My verbal SAT is a 590, math 710.

By Tweety620 (Tweety620) on Sunday, May 25, 2003 - 09:56 pm: Edit