May 3 SAT results

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: May 2003 Archive: May 3 SAT results
By Jason817 (Jason817) on Saturday, May 24, 2003 - 07:23 pm: Edit

Got em in the mail. Now I want to kill myself. I studied like hell after October 2002 PSAT and my score went up by 20 pts. WHAT THE HELL?

Now I am beginning to think that the many hours per day I will spend studing in the summer won't help me.

October 2001 PSAT: 1180
October 2002 PSAT: 1170
MAY 3 2003 SAT I: 1190

I was getting in the 1300's in the practice tests (10 REAL SATS) and high 1200's from Princeton Reviews practice tests. I didn't expect to get this low. My goal was a 1300!! What the hell is this??

Help me. What should I do. I want to get a 1450 by October. I got $400 worth of prep books. Should I start them.

By Incognito (Incognito) on Saturday, May 24, 2003 - 07:27 pm: Edit

Jason, when you do much worse on the real thing than on practice exams, it's because you got so nervous, and you likely didn't pace yourself very well. I think that you can get the 1300+ score, but the key is not in more prep books, but rather in learning how to cope during a real test. You have the potential, you just dont have the mindset for the real thing yet. You were too nervous, and you need to learn how to be more relaxed. Tell me if you actually were nervous (or maybe too confident) during the real thing. If so, then I can't think of any other explanation...

By Ace1 (Ace1) on Saturday, May 24, 2003 - 07:45 pm: Edit

some people just dont have it. sorry.

By Ace1 (Ace1) on Saturday, May 24, 2003 - 07:48 pm: Edit