SAT Prep

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: May 2003 Archive: SAT Prep
By Future (Future) on Monday, May 19, 2003 - 01:29 am: Edit

I'm a sophomore and am taking the October Sat... Gonna prepare over the summer and am taking the Princeton Review class... Ordered Kaplan 1600 and 10 Real Sat's... I got a 1190 on the PSAT... Will this prep be enough to get 1400+??? Any other ways to prep, please suggest... Thanks...

By Future (Future) on Monday, May 19, 2003 - 07:16 pm: Edit

bump

By Future (Future) on Monday, May 19, 2003 - 09:43 pm: Edit

anyone

By Incognito (Incognito) on Monday, May 19, 2003 - 09:44 pm: Edit

vocab, practice, reading, math review, more practice, pacing, confidence, natural improvement over time, more reading, et cetera...(you'll break a 1400 if you really want to)...

By Virgo007 (Virgo007) on Monday, May 19, 2003 - 10:15 pm: Edit

There is no magic solution to prep for the SAT's in my opinion. The only way to see results is to be dedicated in your studying. The most effective way of studying is to take numerous practice tests (not timed) and review every question that you got wrong and make sure you understand it. Review some basic concepts of math (triangles, whatever) and read your ass off for verbal. Reading is the BEST way to ace those sentence completions. Reading also helps for CR. Learn how to do speed-reading, as well. Memorize vocabulary for analogies/sentence completions. After studying some stuff, take a lot more practice tests, but time it so you can pace yourself.The books I suggest you get are: Kaplan 1600 (which you have), 10 Real SAT's, and Gruber's. (You can also pick up Barron's while you're at it).

BTW- Does anyone know where I can get a copy of the "10 REAL SAT's" Third Edition?

By O71394658 (O71394658) on Monday, May 19, 2003 - 10:27 pm: Edit