Take PSAT in Sophomore or Junior year?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: SAT/ACT Tests and Test Preparation: May 2003 Archive: Take PSAT in Sophomore or Junior year?
By Tigeruppercut (Tigeruppercut) on Sunday, May 04, 2003 - 09:40 pm: Edit

i am currently a freshman... i bought some very good prep books (kaplan and barrons) and decided to study for the PSAT from now, over summer, until the test is administered in October. my goal is to get a score among the top percentile in order to get scholarships. Is this a wise decision? or should i take it in my junior year along with the SAT and other tests?

and....is there a limited number of spots for the test? will my college reserve space for the juniors over the sophomores?

thanks....

By Andrew123s (Andrew123s) on Sunday, May 04, 2003 - 09:47 pm: Edit

You can not get a NM Scholarship as a sophmore as far as I know.

By Asdf_1_3 (Asdf_1_3) on Sunday, May 04, 2003 - 09:52 pm: Edit

National Merits scholarships and all other scholarhips are open only to juniors.

By Number9 (Number9) on Sunday, May 04, 2003 - 09:54 pm: Edit

yeah, no one I knew that scored in the percentile as a soph. or frosh got anything, only juniors.

My advice: take it soph year, get a feeling for the test, and then take it junior year when it really counts.

By Bkwrm98 (Bkwrm98) on Sunday, May 04, 2003 - 10:02 pm: Edit

Take it both years. There's no limit for spots I think. But you can't get a scholarship unless you skip a year of high school (it's supposed to be your second-to-last year of high school when you take the PSAT to count)

By Erika (Erika) on Sunday, May 04, 2003 - 11:29 pm: Edit

Well if you take it both years, you will be eligible for the scholarships your junior year.

What kind of sucks is that you will only be able to put the Semi-Finalist status on your college resume, you don't find out if you've won the scholarship until you've probably already decided what college you'll be going to...