Changing majors: from Accounting to Economics

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Confidential Café: 2004 Archive: Changing majors: from Accounting to Economics
By Immortalwarrior (Immortalwarrior) on Friday, August 20, 2004 - 09:06 am: Edit

Hello, I'm a new member here, so I'd like to say a few things about myself and college (I'll try to keep it short).

I'm from Kuwait, I graduated from high school in July with a 3.8 GPA, that's quite good, so I got a scholarship to study abroad, I choose the USA, then I got a list of majors to choose from (not from the university, but from the Kuwait Cultral Office in Washington DC) I choose Accounting (Economics wasn't available)

Let me quote something from their site (Kuwait Culture Office) about changing majors;

"Q. Can I change my major during the course of my scholarship?

A. Requests for a change of major must be done in writing and supported by relevant documents (request letter should include the reason for the change, a study plan, transcripts, etc.). This is a one-time request only"

"Change of Major:

* A student cannot change his/her major without the prior approval of the Ministry of Higher Education through the Cultural Office.
* Requests for a change of major shall not be considered unless students meet the minimum required high school GPA for admission to the scholarship program in the new major (the GPA should be that of the year in which a student was initially admitted to scholarship program, as well as completing 15 credits in the original major).
* Any student who was admitted into the scholarship program through the Cultural Office is not allowed to change his/her major. He/She must adhere to the major for which he/she was recommended for scholarship.
* Medical scholarship students sponsored by the Ministry of Higher Education are allowed to change to other medical majors (subject to the Ministry's approval).