Please grade my Essay!

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Confidential Café: 2004 Archive: Please grade my Essay!
By Vinny919 (Vinny919) on Thursday, July 29, 2004 - 08:12 am: Edit

This is my summer reading project essay for AP Junior English (Langauge and Composition) that I worked pretty hard on, but I'm a really sucky writer so I apologize in advance if its hurts yours eyes to read.

What we're supposed to do is compare and contrast how the authors of The Bell Jar and The Catcher in the Rye use at least 3 literary devices to convey their common theme.

Can you give me a grade that I would get for this essay, keeping in mind its AP Junior English and over the summer.

Just a few things to consider:
Do I stick to the point?
Does it flow well?
Is it well organized?
Are the introduction and conclusion strong?

Adolescence. Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary defines it as “the state or process of growing up.” And indeed it is this process of growing up that is so crucial in a maturing young adult’s life. Events and changes can occur during this period that can have long-term repercussions. Many times, unable to understand or adjust to the adult world, adolescents isolate themselves in an attempt both to preserve their former world and to protect themselves. Both Sylvia Plath, author of The Bell Jar, and J. D. Salinger, author of The Catcher in the Rye, convey the theme of alienation during adolescence in their respective novels through similar, but in many ways different, direct and indirect uses of point-of-view, symbolism, and characterization.