International student desesperate

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Confidential Café: 2004 Archive: International student desesperate
By Alive4ever (Alive4ever) on Thursday, June 17, 2004 - 08:31 pm: Edit

Hello my message is kind of sad but I just want to expose you my problem and ask you if possible for some solutions. I'm an international student and I have been here for one year. My college cost is not that much expensive but my parents can't afford neither my college nor my living expenses any more. So I started working but I don't get too much money and most of the money I make is to pay for my rent and the public transportation I use to take.Now I'm so disappointed because I don't know how I'm going to pay for my next fall semester and I don't have acces to financial aids because I'm not a US citizen or permanent resident. I even did try to get a loan but most of the available loans for international student ask you for a US citizen or perm resident COSIGNER.
So my questions, Do you know a loan who doesn't ask international student for a US cosigner? Do you know so aids or any kind of helps for international in needs? Is anybody has a solution to help me paying for my college and keep on studying? I'm so frightened as long as the fall is coming. Please help me.

By Geodude666 (Geodude666) on Thursday, June 17, 2004 - 09:00 pm: Edit

try to secure a loan from your native country

By Zhou (Zhou) on Tuesday, June 29, 2004 - 06:55 am: Edit

Yeah,why not try getting loan from your home country?I am an international student going to Tulane this fall.Good luck and God bless!

By Magoo (Magoo) on Tuesday, June 29, 2004 - 10:22 pm: Edit