Artists -- What do you do?

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Confidential Café: 2004 Archive: Artists -- What do you do?
By Girlx (Girlx) on Monday, June 14, 2004 - 05:41 pm: Edit

I've always loved doing art (drawing) but I've never really had the time to indulge. However, I have a little time this summer, so I actually want to do something art-related. However, I'm not sure what I could do besides draw by myself, which is a little boring. I want to *do* something with it. So, all you guys who do art all the time, what sort of things do you do?

By C_J (C_J) on Tuesday, June 15, 2004 - 01:06 am: Edit

You can join an art class. Maybe they have them in your area. I've been attending once a week art classes for the last nine years, although my focus is oil painting rather than drawing. Some colleges also offer summer art workshops. Look around!

Competitions can be fun. I recently drew the cover for a ballet school's brochure and am currently busy putting together a college art portfolio. Goals like competitions or porfolio makings can inspire you to stick with your work. :)

By Kiwee (Kiwee) on Tuesday, June 15, 2004 - 01:24 pm: Edit

I do commissions for people. They give me a picture of their dog, kid, etc, and I draw it for them. You make okay money, only I am too stupid to overcharge lol.

By Tobes (Tobes) on Tuesday, June 15, 2004 - 10:14 pm: Edit

you could also try looking for an internship with an advertising company or something although i didnt have much luck with that myself...
also, while it's too late to do it this summer, some options for next summer would be doing a program at an art school like parsons in nyc or risd in providence, ri. there's also overseas programs that go to paris and florence and stuff for art. and i found this cool place in massachusetts called snow farm which is an art camp. if you're at least 18 you can also do adult weekend intensive programs there.