Opinions On Plan B

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: College Confidential Café: 2004 Archive: Opinions On Plan B
By Bumblebee83 (Bumblebee83) on Thursday, May 13, 2004 - 12:42 am: Edit

Hi parents-
I'm not a "grown up", I'm a student. But I wanted to know what some educated people thought about the recent FDA decision regarding the Plan B pill. I find that people my age are educated in their opinions, and I wanted to know what some adults thought, especially the women. Thanks!

By Smhop (Smhop) on Thursday, May 13, 2004 - 01:17 am: Edit

If this pill is available, girls will likely us it instead of other methods of BC-- that will result in more sexually trans disease. :/

Lastly, there have to be some tremendous health risks involved with taking those extreme levels of hormones. Imagine the girl who takes it 2 or 3 times in a year--

SO IMO: H3LL yeah, it should be by prescrip only! BC there is way to much potential for abuse.

I personally think people should take responsibility for thier actions. *** IMO: Plan ahead, capiche? ***

By Demingy (Demingy) on Thursday, May 13, 2004 - 01:27 am: Edit

Plan ahead doesn't necessarily apply in cases of rape or incest. Especially in cases of incest, it would probably be more difficult/less likely that a girl would get a prescription, but probably easier to get it over the counter.

I know that unfortunately there will be a lot of girls that would abuse this, but I think that the key to that has always been education. The more we can educate everyone about the true risks, the less "oops". It is still a problem, but I also still know a LOT of people who don't know much about sex ed. Much of this has to do with taboos associated with it as well as the fact that many schools are only able to really start teaching it in high school. Kids know how babies are made, they should also gradually learn about the "uglier" side of sex.