Fake Scholarships?





Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

College Discussion Forums: Financial Aid and Scholarships: September - November 2003 Archive: Fake Scholarships?
By Aqua0075 (Aqua0075) on Wednesday, November 12, 2003 - 11:09 am: Edit

I have been recieving a lot of information lately about scholarships. I know some of these are scams and some are contests where it is really rare to win. So how can I find out if these Scholarships are telling the truth, or not? I know the tell-tale signs, but is there any website (Besides FinAid) that can help me?

By Drusba (Drusba) on Friday, November 14, 2003 - 09:22 am: Edit

Pratically all unsolicited mail that you receive that is not from a college itself purporting to offer scholarship aid should be quickly tossed in the trash. A rule of thumb is that if the organization is asking you to pay any money, then stay far away from it. FineAid and princetonreview.com do a fairly good job of providing information on scholarships that actually exist.


Report an offensive message on this page    E-mail this page to a friend
Posting is currently disabled in this topic. Contact your discussion moderator for more information.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation