Is Harvard far from me??

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: Ivy League Schools: Harvard University: 2004 Archive: Is Harvard far from me??
By Speedant (Speedant) on Sunday, April 04, 2004 - 10:43 am: Edit

I come from Hong Kong, China. I have been in the US and have spoken English(before, I have never spoken English before) since August 03. I am a junior now. In my country, there were a few opportunities for volunteering. I knew that volunteering is one of the critical factors to be admitted in Ivy League Colleges. Also, when I first came to US, my counsellor messed up my schedule. I was not in any APs, or Honors!? The reason was that she didn't have enough time to put me in those classes. Although I got straight As, I knew the scores are useless. Since I was a new student at my school, I found myself difficult to be committee members or presidents in the clubs and be captains in the sports team(not because I am a non-socail person). I am currently in the soccer team and math club only......I am planning to take the SAT and SAT II subject tests. I knew I could easily get 800 on the math part. Also, I am confident acing SAT II Math IIC and SAT II Physics. I have chosen rigorous classes for my senior year - 3AP classes(since my school only offers 7 APs). On the other hand, I am looking for volunteer work and I found one. What I want to know is that can all my work salvage my situation?

By Speedant (Speedant) on Sunday, April 04, 2004 - 12:41 pm: Edit

Bump

By Scarletgirl (Scarletgirl) on Sunday, April 04, 2004 - 04:07 pm: Edit

"What I want to know is that can all my work salvage my situation?"

Yes, but there's no guarantee? You're English could be a problem...you need to know enough to pass the TOEFL, I think it is, and write a good essay. You sound math heavy--have you won any awards? Most people are either very well-rounded or have a "wow" somewhere.

"The reason was that she didn't have enough time to put me in those classes. "