Results from a survey entitled "Ivy League Graduate Schools"

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: Ivy League Schools: Harvard University: 2004 Archive: Results from a survey entitled "Ivy League Graduate Schools"
By Wei (Wei) on Saturday, February 28, 2004 - 07:09 pm: Edit

I am an ivy league graduate. I will be a college councilor overseas (Western Europe & East Asia) in a few years. My job will be giving advices on grad or undergrad programs in the U.S. to international students who want to come to the U.S. for higher education.

First of all, I have to say that I don¡¦t believe in any types of school rankings (but I take them as references) because you just can¡¦t compare one from another. However, as a college councilor, sometimes I just kinda have to rank them because students will ask me for sure all the time. It is understood that international students don¡¦t know many of America¡¦s educational institutions. In fact, Ivy League and probably Top 25 (but not all) are pretty much what they can think of in their heads. Therefore, I have been conducting a few surveys to HS and/or college students in the U.S. in different categories so I can give students a number and tell them this is what Americans at your age think ¡V I think it is more important than ranking itself.

Recently, I have got an interesting result from one of my surveys entitled ¡§Ivy League Graduate School¡¨. This survey was conducting closed to a thousand undergraduate college students who plan going to graduate school within five years after they receive their BA/BS degrees. (Ivy League: 19%, Top 25: 53%, Top 50: 75%, Top 100: 86.5%, Overseas, 13%. Others: 0.5%)

Question: list No. 1 through 8 the Ivy League schools you intend to go, if all eight schools¡¦ acceptance rate is 100% and what school/major such as MBA, LAW, Medicine, Engineering and so forth.