Transfer to Harvard

Click here to go to the NEW College Discussion Forum

Discus: Ivy League Schools: Harvard University: 2004 Archive: Transfer to Harvard
By Kiwinuts (Kiwinuts) on Thursday, January 08, 2004 - 08:59 pm: Edit

how much more competitive is it to transfer to H from a state school even with almost perfect standardized test scores?

By Fingercuffs2006 (Fingercuffs2006) on Thursday, January 08, 2004 - 09:40 pm: Edit

Close to impossible. But I'm trying anyways. I'm currently in my second year at Texas Tech University's Honors College, 3.9 GPA, 1510 SAT, state and nationally recognized clarinet player. The booklet they sent me says "Last year 55 students were admitted from over 1,000 applicants." That's an admit rate of about 5%. If you're serious about transferring, apply to several schools. In fact, one item on Harvard's transfer app asks you, "What alternative to Harvard are you considering?" They constantly remind you how ridiculous your odds of admission are throughout the application. Fun times. Good luck!

By Kiwinuts (Kiwinuts) on Thursday, January 08, 2004 - 11:04 pm: Edit

hi fingercuffs2006! thanks for your feedback! Glad im not the only one on this. Please tell me if you get in, I will do likewise. Good luck!
Are you also applying to all the ivies?
And are you submitting sat II scores? I dont have them and I dont know whether I should take them or not...

By Fingercuffs2006 (Fingercuffs2006) on Friday, January 09, 2004 - 01:03 am: Edit

Yes, I'm submitting SAT II scores. The booklet says "Applicants are encouraged, but not required, to submit the results of three College Board SAT II: Subject Tests." With so much competition, anything that says "strongly encouraged," "recommended," or "you might wanna do blahblahblah," I'm reading as "required" even if they technically are not.